In Search of Scintillating Banter

I realized the other day that my main stumbling block in the quest for independence from my children is the unfortunate fact that their lives are more interesting than my own.

I feel as though I should be spending my days hobnobbing with fascinating people; my evenings laughing at scintillating banter over a glass of wine; and my weekends jumping out of helicopters onto unspoiled powder.

Unfortunately, the reality is more of a litany of repetitive tasks – dishes, laundry, walking the dog and … oh yes … driving kids around.

It really hit home when my daughter’s teacher hosted a farewell get together for her grads and their parents.  True to Murphy’s Law it actually coincided with a social event in which I was going to be spending the evening with other adults, but I reorganized my schedule without even thinking.

Afterwards it occurred to me that I should really have stuck to Plan A, which I knew would be fun and which supports my emptying nest project.  But, to tell the truth, I also wanted to spend an evening with the other parents, talking about what the kids are planning, watching them playing improv. games (they’re drama kids) and trying to hang on to the last few moments of their childhoods.

It transpired in the end that the child in question couldn’t go for the entire party anyway, and really didn’t care whether I was there or not.  So, I did end up reverting to Plan A and I have to say it was very refreshing to engage in some adult conversation that didn’t revolve around what my children are up to.

So, here’s to the scintillating banter that I did end up enjoying over a glass of wine.  Now I just need to track down a helicopter and some fresh powder for this weekend.

Leave a Reply

