Music To My Ears

It has been a long-standing plan of mine to learn the piano at some point before I shuffle off this mortal coil.

To that end, I have been requesting a keyboard for every gift-worthy event for about two years now … Christmas, birthdays, Mother’s Day and so on.  But, apparently my husband feels that I don’t need or deserve a piano and so it hasn’t been forthcoming.

Resorting to the only possible solution to the problem, I have bought my own.

I got a beginner’s piano book, and sat down with great excitement to figure out the notes and work out where to put my fingers.  Imagine my excitement when, within a few short hours, I was already banging out ‘Merrily We Roll Along’, and with more than one finger!

Unfortunately my sense of achievement was cut short when my youngest son, having never had a piano lesson in his life, sat down and played ‘The Entertainer’.  I gather he just picked it up somewhere.

Eventually I would like to take proper lessons, but what with one child doing competitive gymnastics and the other doing every lesson her pushy stage mum can book her into, I guess that expense will have to wait.

Nonetheless, it’s fun to mess around with, and I am delighted to report that I am now playing chords and even sharps and flats, all with two hands at the same time.  My triumphs may be small and humble, but we all have to have something to keep us going.

4 thoughts on “Music To My Ears

  1. Congratulations. I’m in a room now with two pianos. My children played and I wished I could but, to be honest, I haven’t touched either of the pianos in years. Good luck. You seem to have the knack for it.

Leave a Reply

