Offbeat Legacy

We all want to feel that we have left a legacy for our kids – something of value that can be passed down through the generations.

I like to feel that I’m leaving my children with a strong sense of family; teaching them compassion and humour … and who knows what other wonderful things people might think to make up about me when I’m gone.

An inability to clap wasn’t quite what I had in mind.

For a recent university project, Roxy was instructed to describe what she learned during her first clapping-handsyear of Musical Theatre; focusing on how she did in achieving her goals, and what she learned both about the art and herself.

Among other things, she said she learned that she has no sense of rhythm – due, she assures us, to a genetic predisposition which she identified during an unfortunate episode in which I was discovered clapping on the offbeat.

It only happened once … will I be haunted by it forever?

I can assure you that I have busted some pretty complicated moves in my time.  During a recent choir show we had to sing, sway and clap to one particular song … all at the same time!  And if that wasn’t bad enough, as we swayed one way we clapped once and as we swayed the other way we clapped twice.  Clearly a feat of incredible coordination and (dare I say it) rhythm.  It took a great deal of concentration and practice, but I mastered it.  To the point where Roxy even complimented me on the timeliness of my clapping.

Perhaps the message she should be taking from this is about having the tenacity to soldier on against crushing challenges – to clap in the face of ineptitude.  Yes, that I like the sound of.

Leave a Reply

