A few of my favourite things

Sometimes you have to work very hard to be grateful for the little things.

It’s been a stressful summer, and let’s face it, I teeter on the edge of bat crap crazy at the best of times. Right now I’m vacillating between moderately unhinged and crying pitifully at ads for the local gym. It’s a roller coaster.

Thank goodness for acai berries covered in dark chocolate. Seriously! both those things are good for you, so it stands to reason that the more I eat the healthier I’ll become. Right now I’m doing everything I can to maximize my intake. For the sake of my health.

As for Terry Pratchett, he has no idea of the role he plays in getting me from one day to the next. He’s created a hilariously magical world based on everything that’s absurd or enchanting in this one. It’s where I escape to whenever I need a good laugh. On those occasions when the light at the end of the tunnel turns out to be an oncoming train, I thank him for providing me with that analogy, which never fails to raise my spirits.

Since I’m watching the Best Exotic Marigold Hotel as I write, I’m also inclined to feel grateful to the British film industry. It’s managed to avoid becoming the freakshow that is Hollywood, and it turn out gems like Judi Dench. Maggie Smith, Bill Nighy and so many others who never fail to be brilliant. There are few films I’m inclined to watch over and over again, and most of the them are British. If you haven’t yet seen Love Actually, what on earth are you waiting for?

Here in Calgary it’s snowing outside right now. Looking back I’m pretty sure we had three full calendar months clear of the white stuff, so I guess that’s another thing to be grateful for.

On that note, I think I’ll head off now and open a new packet of chocolate covered acai berries.

 

 

5 thoughts on “A few of my favourite things

      1. Follow-up question: Where would you suggest I start with Terry Pratchett? My search on our library website turned up tons of entries, and I don’t know what to read first!

  1. Ooh that’s a tough one! He’s written about 30 books in the discworld series, and although there is a thread (the development and history of the characters) running through many of the stories, they are still completely self contained. I love the witch stories, and would definitely recommend Wyrd Sisters as a great introduction. Alternatively you could start at the beginning with The Colour of Magic. I hope you enjoy them as much as I do!

  2. Hmm, I could have used some acai berries and dark chocolate for energy yesterday while I was out whacking the snow off our trees every two hours. We didn’t lose any, though, so I’m pleased despite today’s aches and pains. And I hate to admit to being a philistine, but I’ve never heard of Best Exotic Marigold Hotel and I’ve never seen Love Actually. I must go search them out now, along with dark chocolate acai berries!

Leave a Reply

